Uncategorized

Vegetarian Lunch Ideas

I’m not sure if it is just me, but I find lunches the hardest being veggie, I seem to repeat my lunches every day as I run out of ideas. My simple lunches are cheese sandwich, egg sandwich, salads, beans on toast… it gets seriously boring. So here are a few ideas if you are anything like me and struggle for something quick and easy that is veggie.

vegetarian-love
Picture: http://www.foodandnutrition.org

Quorn Chilli & Lime chicken & Salad wraps

  • Quorn Chilli & Lime chicken pieces (or your favorite no meat chicken pieces)
  • tortilla wraps
  • Salad
  • Mayo (or your preferred sauce)
  • Coriander (personal preference)

This is one of my favorite lunches, so easy and quick when I’m in a rush. Spread a thin layer of Mayo all over your wrap, lay on your favorite salad pieces down the middle top to bottom (I always put on lettuce, cucumber and avocado). Then l sprinkle the chicken pieces, I like a generous amount and then plenty of black pepper and some coriander if I’m feeling it. DONE! So simple and so delicious. Fun Fact: Coriander tastes like soap to 4-14% of the human population down to genetics.

Kale and Mango Salad (Vegan)

  • Kale
  • Mango
  • EV Olive Oil
  • Lime
  • All your favorite salad fixings

I love this lunch for a summers day, the sweet and bitter goes together so well it actually makes kale palatable for me! So first of all you want to mix the lime juice and the oil together to personal taste, this is to flavor the kale with and massage it. I usually do around 2tbs of oil and a 1tsp of freshly squeezed lime juice (just keep tasting and adding til you like it.) I keep this oil to the side in a glass and pour a little over my kale at a time and massage the kale with my hands until I can feel it get softer and start to really smell the kale (this just helps the kale to be less chewy.) I then cut up a mango into cubes and sprinkle that onto my kale, get that juice that has collected onto your chopping board and pour that onto the kale too! Then I add all my favorite salad foods, red and yellow peppers (great vitamin c), Avocado (good natural fats as I am very slim), Cucumber, Olives just add anything you like on a salad as we all know salads can be boring anything to make them a little exciting is great.

Spinach and Mozzarella Pasta Salad

  • Ready cooked Pasta (I use Fusilli)
  • Spinach
  • Mozzarella
  • Vegetarian Pesto
  • Sun dried tomatoes

This is great to cook the night before and leave in the fridge for work/school/college the next day. Again there are no measurements as this is personal preference on how much you want of each ingredient. I put two good handfuls of fusilli in the pot to boil then get on with chopping everything else. The mozzarella I use comes in a bag of water and is usually a round chunk of squidgy rubbery cheese, I’m explaining this as I know the american mozzarella is harder and I have tried to find this mozzarella for pizzas and cannot find it anywhere! Anyway, back to the recipe. I chop the mozzarella into small cubes and have around a handful of that. I then chop the sun dried tomatoes in half or quarters depending on how big they are, I also chop a generous handful of spinach up into strips or I wilt the spinach using hot water through a sieve or colander, depending how I want my spinach. When the pasta has boiled I drain it and leave it to cool (for speed I run the cold water tap on it to cool it down.) I then mix through a table spoon or two of pesto depending on how much I want and also mix through the spinach, mozzarella and tomatoes. Eat straight away or pop it in a Tupperware in the fridge for the next day.

Feta, Olive Salad Pita Breads

  • Pita bread
  • Feta cheese
  • olives
  • leafy lettuce
  • Favorite salad dressing (a vinaigrette dressing works well)
  • Side salad (peppers, spinach, lettuce & cucumber)

I heat the bread up (I use my hob haha!) then chop them in half and split them to make a pocket I then fill them with the leafy lettuce, chopped olives and chopped feta, add a little dressing and put these on your plate. I always have a little side salad with mine with chopped peppers, a bit of raw spinach, some lettuce and chopped cucumbers. You can really add anything you want and change it to suit your preference, you can also easily pack this in a Tupperware ready for work or school as it is an easy on the go lunch.

Thank you for reading I will be sure to add more posts about recipes, I am not a chef or an expert in food I just want to share my easy lunch idea’s as because I am quite lazy when it comes to making food I can easily start eating really unhealthy.

-AliCat x

Leave a Reply

